IRS posts “Taxpayer Bill of Rights

The IRS has just issued a “Taxpayer Bill of Rights” that you should be aware of.

The Rights are divided into ten main categories. According to this “cornerstone” document you have The Right:

* to be informed

* to quality service

* to pay no more than the correct amount of tax

* to challenge the IRS’s position and be heard

* to appeal an IRS decision in an independent forum

* to finality

* to privacy

* to confidentiality

* to retain representation

* to a fair and just tax system